How about reducing drawdowns using stop loss limits?

Home » Topics » FAQ » How about reducing drawdowns using stop loss limits?
How about reducing drawdowns using stop loss limits?2017-03-03T15:27:36+00:00
  • Author
    I studied all possible ways of stop loss limits, and the conclusion is, that whatever you do, it lowers the return of the strategies. The simple reason is, that you have a lot of up and down spikes during each month. Most of them can be considered as pure noise. They have nothing to do with the general trend of these ETFs, however they are strong enough to trigger the stop loss limits.
    But once you sold, what can you do then? Reinvest in the ETF which is best at this moment?
    If you do this, most of the time you realize a loss by selling low and you buyback high. This is the typical “sell low, buy high” strategy which many inexperienced investors are using.
    The use of stop loss limits may be good for trading highly volatile single stocks, but it is the worst thing to use, if you trade ETFs which follow longer lasting economic cycles.
    You could probably think, that another way to reduce drawdowns would be, to use shorter ranking periods. You could use for example one week instead of one month, or even do a new ranking every day.
    However again, the problem is, that the shorter these periods become, the more you trade pure noise up and down spikes. If you want to trade the longer economic cycles, you need to use a period length which filters out these noise spikes.
    Using backtests, you can optimize this period length.
    However, you are right, that such intermediate losses are not a nice thing. The only way, I think you can do to reduce such volatility is, by adding some hedge to a strategy. A hedge is normally a negatively correlated asset. The best way to reduce such noise drawdowns is to hold a percentage of the investment in long duration Treasuries.